Advising

Faculty are primarily available by EMAIL or ZOOM for advising.  Please see the table below for details and links to Zoom office hours.

Have questions about the History major or minor?  Considering changing your major to History?  Trying to plan your college career or preparing for graduation?

Students can stop by any advisor’s office for drop-in advising, or email them directly if you would like to set up an appointment.  A list of advisors and office hours are listed below.

Explore the New Online Graduation Form Process

How to Apply for Graduation (paper form):

  1. Obtain the Graduation Application from the department.  (Spring of Junior year.)
  2. Complete the forms to the best of your ability.
  3. Meet with any advisor to go over the Graduation Application form and to sign off on it.
  4. Give the forms to the department’s administrative coordinator and they will get the Department Chair’s signature and send it over to Admissions and Records.
Office Hours
Name Email & Phone Office Hours
James Mestaz (Starting in Fall 2022)
Stephen V. Bittner steve.bittner@sonoma.edu
Tue:
9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Dr. Bittner's Calendar
Samuel Cohen samuel.cohen@sonoma.edu
Tue:
10:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. (Please email to make an appt.) Dr. Cohen's Zoom
Thu:
9:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m. (Please email to make an appt.) Dr. Cohen's Zoom
Steve Estes steve.estes@sonoma.edu
Mon:
1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m. Dr. Estes's Zoom Link
Wed:
12:00 p.m.-1:30 p.m. Dr. Estes's Zoom Link
Mary Halavais mary.halavais@sonoma.edu Available By Appointment Only
Michelle Jolly michelle.jolly@sonoma.edu
Tue:
3:00 p.m.-3:45 p.m. (Zoom or in person) Please Sign Up
Fri:
12:30 p.m.-1:30 p.m. (Zoom Only) Please Sign Up
Amy Kittelstrom kitt@sonoma.edu
Mon:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Professor Kettelstrom's Zoom Link
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Professor Kettelstrom's Zoom Link
Kathleen Noonan noonan@sonoma.edu
Tue:
9:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. via Zoom
Thu:
9:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. via Zoom