Advising

IMPORTANT UPDATE! The History Department has transitioned to remote-only services for the Spring 2021 semester.

Faculty will be available by EMAIL or ZOOM for advising.  Please see the table below for details and links to Zoom office hours.

Have questions about the History major or minor?  Considering changing your major to History?  Trying to plan your college career or preparing for graduation?

Students can stop by any advisor’s office for drop-in advising, or email them directly if you would like to set up an appointment.  A list of advisors and current office hours are listed below.

How to Apply for Graduation:

  1. Obtain the Graduation Application from the department.  (Spring of Junior year.)
  2. Complete the forms to the best of your ability.
  3. Meet with any advisor to go over the Graduation Application form and to sign off on it.
  4. Give the forms to the department’s administrative coordinator and they will get the Department Chair’s signature and send it over to Admissions and Records.
Office Hours
Name Email & Phone Office Hours
Stephen V. Bittner steve.bittner@sonoma.edu
Thu:
9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Dr. Bittner's Calendar
Samuel Cohen samuel.cohen@sonoma.edu
Steve Estes steve.estes@sonoma.edu
Mon:
12:00 p.m.-1:30 p.m. Dr. Estes's Zoom Link
Wed:
1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m. Dr. Estes's Zoom Link
Mary Halavais mary.halavais@sonoma.edu
Mon:
7:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m. Email for appointment
Tue:
1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m. Email for appointment
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. Email for appointment

Available By Appointment Only
Michelle Jolly michelle.jolly@sonoma.edu
Wed:
3:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. Dr. Jolly's Sign-up Link
Fri:
12:15 p.m.-1:15 p.m. Dr. Jolly's Sign-up Link
Amy Kittelstrom kitt@sonoma.edu
Mon:
1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. Prof. Kittelstrom Zoom Link
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. Prof. Kittelstrom Zoom Link
Kathleen Noonan noonan@sonoma.edu
Tue:
10:00 a.m.-11:30 a.m. Dr. Noonan's Zoom Link
Thu:
10:00 a.m.-11:30 a.m. Dr. Noonan's Zoom Link